5 best Grand National winners since 2010

The most famous horse race in the world returns on Saturday 10th April, the Grand National at Aintree. One of the highlights of the sporting calendar, last year’s race was a casualty of the COVID pandemic – putting an end to Tiger Roll’s push for history as he tried to seal a third straight win in the race. Having won the race in 2018 and 2019, Tiger Roll is one of the most popular horses in training but he’s not the only horse to have captured the hearts of Aintree racing fans in recent years. Here are the five best winners of the Grand National since 2010, a who’s who of high-calibre horses.


5 best Grand National winners since 2010


Don’t Push It (2010)

Despite being a 15-time champion and one of the most successful jockeys of all time, the Grand National had eluded Tony McCoy as he headed into the twilight of his career. Step forward Don’t Push It, trained by Jonjo O’Neill and owned by JP McManus.

Popular with punters on the day  who were hoping that luck would be on McCoy’s side, Don’t Push It was sent off as the 10/1 joint-favourite and went on to put in a perfect round of jumping over the infamous Aintree fences.

Approaching the last, Don’t Post It and Black Apalachi were locked in battle before McCoy and Don’t Push It edged into the lead to run out five-length winners and seal their spot in Aintree history.



Auroras Encore (2013)

Having run 2nd in the Scottish Grand National in 2012, Auroras Encore arrived at Aintree the following year on the back of some disappointing runs and was seemingly unfancied for the race.

However, under jockey Ryan Mania, who was riding in the National for the first time, Auroras Encore bounced back to his best to add his name to the list of Grand National winners. Trained by Sue Smith, he was also one of the biggest Grand National outsiders to win the race at odds of 66/1.



Many Clouds (2015)

One of the most popular horses of the last decade, the late Many Clouds put in one of the best weight-carrying performances ever to land the Grand National in 2015.

Carrying 11st 9lb and with Leighton Aspell on board, Many Clouds was foot-perfect over the National fences, cementing his legacy as one of the great recent Grand National winners.

He took the lead five fences from home and was three-lengths clear over the last – with the pack closing, he bravely held off Saint Are to win the race at 25/1 and give owner Trevor Hemmings a third Grand National winner.



One For Arthur (2017)

It was one for Scotland in 2017 as One For Arthur became only the second-ever winner of the Grand National to be trained north of the border.

Trained by Lucinda Russell, One For Arthur arrived at Aintree on the back of 5th place in the Becher Chase over the National fences and victory in the Classic Chase at Warwick.

As they headed for home at Aintree, One For Arthur and jockey Derek Fox loomed up ominously behind the leaders before taking it up over the last and powering on to victory up the run in from Cause of Causes.



Tiger Roll (2018 & 2019)

Tiger Roll had won the race in 2018 and was looking to become the first horse since Red Rum in 1974 to win back-to-back Grand Nationals.

Having won the Cross Country Chase at the Cheltenham Festival the month before, the buzz around Tiger Roll intensified as Aintree approached, and on the day of the race itself he was backed into 4/1 favourite. As in 2018, Tiger Roll was partnered by jockey Davy Russell and just like the year before, the pair did the business in style.

Tiger Roll’s victory never looked in doubt as he jumped and travelled through the race and took it up between the final two fences.

He drew clear up the run in to land consecutive Grand Nationals and cement his place as an Aintree legend and one of the greatest Grand National winners ever, let alone in recent years. Sadly, there will be no Tiger Roll this year – connections were unhappy at the weight he was allocated to carry so decided to withdraw him.




You could earn up to £100 (or currency equivalent) in bonus funds by joining Colossus with our New Player Bonus. Click here to join the action.